Physicians and ICD-10

Posted on Oct 1, 2015 in Clinical Documentation | 0 comments

ICD-10 Key Facts:

  • The federally-mandated ICD-10 compliance date is 10/1/15.
  • ICD-10 requires additional diagnosis specificity in three axes: (mnemonic SEAL the deal)
  • Severity of illness (e.g. Stage 2 cancer), Etiology, Anatomy (body site) including Laterality
  • About 25 percent of new codes are based on laterality (left, right, bilateral), and 25 percent are related to encounter type (first, second, sequela) or pregnancy trimester (1st, 2nd, 3rd).
  • The Sutter E H R ICD-10 Diagnosis Calculator and Problem List Calculator prompt physicians to document with the level of specificity required for ICD-10. The current diagnosis look-up tool will  remain the same with physicians entering diagnosis terms (e.g. pneumonia) rather than codes

It’s not too late

  •  Practice using ICD-10 Diagnosis terms (not codes) as well as adding specificity for procedures performed at the hospitals
  •  Review your office written order forms to ensure they are ICD-10 compliant.
  •   ICD-10 General Trainings in HealthStream: ( are named:
    • The Language of ICD-10: Specificity and Granularity
    •  Documenting in ICD-10-CM
    • Documenting in ICD-10-PCS
  • ICD-10 Specialty Training in HealthStream:
    • Take at least one (1) additional specialty-specific course (e.g. “ICD-10 and Pediatrics” for pediatricians or “ICD-10 and Dermatology” for dermatologists)
  • Work with your Coders and Clinical Documentation Specialist to check your compliance with ICD-10.  Respond to queries timely

Note: Additional training materials, including ICD-10 WebEx sessions and training videos, are available on the ICD-10 portal for viewing at http://mysutter/Resources/ICD10.

By Alisa Stinn, RHIT
Client Location Lead, Health Information Management


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *